GPM - Groupe de Physique des Matériaux

 

GPM lab is supported by CNRS (French national research center for science, label UMR6634), Normandy University of Rouen and INSA Rouen Normandy. This laboratory is associated to the doctoral school ”PSIME” and the Norman- dy network for research “Materials and Energy”.

Research fields

  • Scientific instrumentation
  • Materials science and mechanics
  • Nanostructures, nanoscience and nano- technologies
  • Polymers and disordered systems
  • Nanoparticles, health and environment

Application areas

  • Scientific instrumentation
  • Energy
  • Space and aircraft industry
  • Automotive industry
  • Biology and physics

Know-how and expertise

Scientific instrumentation
The GPM lab is one of the world leaders in the design and development of the Atom Probe tomography technique covering both the improvement of performances and the application in materials science, including correlative microscopy.

Nanoparticles, health and environment
Original and interdisciplinary approach. Physicists, doctors, toxicologists, and biologists all contribute to answe- ring questions about the impact of nanoparticles on the environment and health.

Materialsscience and mechanics
Up to date research in physical me- tallurgy is carried out on advanced alloys thanks to unique facilities at all possible scales, from atomic scale microscopy to thermo-mechanical testing. This experimental work is supported by advanced numerical modeling.

Polymers and disordered systems
Investigation of physical properties, aging behavior and durability of organic polymers (including biopolymers), nanocomposite and composite materials with natural fibers.

Nanostructures
Advanced materials for application in nano-electronics, optical and magnetic materials and materials for micro-electronic systems are investigated with a special emphasis on the relationship between structure and properties. It also includes the durability and reliability of micro-elec- tronic devices.

Facilities

A unique facility platform and up-to-date characterization techniques
The research activities of the GPM are based on up-to-date techniques: atom probe tomography, high resolution electron microscopy (scanning and transmission), NanoSIMS, Nano and pico-indentation, mechanical tests, X-ray di raction, Mössbauer spectroscopy, Photoluminescence... Besides, a unique instrumental platform (GENESIS) is dedicated to the experimental characte- rization down to the atomic scale of radio-active materials and materials for the nuclear industry. An additive manufacturing platform is also operated by the lab.

A wide range of collaborations

The GPM lab has several joint ven- tures with R&D labs from industries (EDF, Manoir Industries, CEEVA CRT and “Analyses et surface CRT”) and shares an innovation center with Volum-e (additive manufacturing). A joint international lab has also been founded with University Nebraska Lincoln, and the lab expertise is shared in various joint projects with other teams in Europe, USA, Japan, China and India.

Contact

Laboratoire GPM
avenue de l’Université, BP12
76801 Saint-Étienne-du-Rouvray cedex
tél : (0)2 32 95 50 36
contact.gpm@univ-rouen.fr
gpm.univ-rouen.fr

Direction : Philippe PAREIGE

More information

Download the GPM file

GPM - Groupe de Physique des Matériaux

 

Le GPM est une unité mixte de recherche (UMR 6634) CNRS, Université de Rouen Normandie et INSA Rouen Normandie. Ce laboratoire appartient à  l’école doctorale PSIME ainsi qu’au réseau d’intérêts normand « Normandie énergie et matériaux ».

Axes de recherche

  • Instrumentation scientifique
  • Sciences et mécanique des matériaux
  • Nanostructures pour les nanosciences et nanotechnologies
  • Systèmes désordonnés et polymères
  • Nanoparticules et environnement

Secteurs d'application

  • Instrumentation scientifique
  • Énergie
  • Aéronautique et spatial
  • Automobile et mobilité
  • Biologie et physique

Savoir-faire

Instrumentation scientifique
Le GPM développe la technique de sonde atomique tomographique, améliore leurs performances et démontre leurs applications en sciences de la matière et leurs couplages aux autres techniques (microscopies corrélatives).

Nanoparticules et environnement
Approche originale et interdisciplinaire. Des physiciens, médecins, toxicologues, et biologistes contribuent ensemble à répondre aux  questions de l’impact des nanoparticules sur l’environnement et la santé.

Sciences et mécanique des matériaux
Recherche originale en métallurgie physique. Grâce à son parc expérimental unique, la recherche sur les métaux et alliages est abordée à plusieurs échelles, de l’observation à l’échelle atomique jusqu’aux essais thermomécaniques. Ce travail est adossé à une modélisation  numérique adaptée aux échelles observées

Systèmes désordonnés et polymères
Étude des propriétés et du vieillissement des polymères organiques pétro et bio-sourcés, des nanocomposites et des composites à fibres  naturelles.

Nanostructures
Étude des matériaux pour la nanoélectronique, l’optoélectronique, la photonique, matériaux magnétiques massifs ou nanostructurés, fiabilité et défaillance des composants électriques.

Équipements

Une plateorme instrumentale et des équipements de pointe
Les activités du GPM s’appuient sur des installations de très haut niveau : sondes atomiques, microscopes électroniques (balayage et  transmission), NanoSIMS, Nano et pico-indentation, essais mécaniques, RX, Mossbauer, Spectroscopies, Photoluminescence... À cela s’ajoute  une plateorme unique au monde, GENESIS, ayant pour principal objectif de développer l’analyse expérimentale à échelle atomique  des matériaux radioactifs des installations électronucléaires. Le laboratoire anime également une plateorme de fabrication additive.

Collaborations

Le GPM dispose de laboratoires communs avec les industriels EDF, Manoir Industries, les CRT CEVAA et Analyses et Suraces, un centre     d’innovation avec Volum-e. Il est laboratoire commun avec l’Université Lincoln du Nebraska. Il exporte par ailleurs ses compétences à  l’international : Europe, États-Unis, Japon, Chine, Inde...

Contact

Laboratoire GPM
avenue de l’Université, BP12
76801 Saint-Étienne-du-Rouvray cedex
tél : (0)2 32 95 50 36
contact.gpm@univ-rouen.fr
gpm.univ-rouen.fr

Direction : Philippe PAREIGE

Plus d'informations

Téléchargez la fiche du GPM